2 Comments
founding

This is a question I think about a fair amount. I feel like in theory I should have lots of extra time because I used to spend hours and hours in the act of drinking, and then as you say hours and hours in recovery from drinking. But, I have not found that I actually feel like a have a lot more time on my hands. I think a couple things have happened. One, I sleep more regularly. When I drank, I think hours of sleep were where that time came from. So, in part I'm sleeping instead of drinking. The other thing is that I do more things consistently - such as daily exercise, mediating, reading, writing, or just resting. I never have days when I wake up unable to function. I spent a lot more time resting than I used to. What I haven't done is started any new hobbies or anything like that. I haven't learned how to fix up the house, or how to bake bread, or how to repair my own bicycle, or how to knit, or anything else!

Expand full comment