6 Comments
May 6, 2021Liked by Chelsey Flood

I found it fascinating to find out about executive function and how a deficit in it explained some of my difficulties. I was always losing things, late, getting lost (I still haven't found a work around for that one as I find Maps hard to follow) and very badly organised.

I have found using a diary with lists (the belt) alongside my phone calendar (the braces) to be transformative regarding organisation and getting things done. Thankfully my organisational trousers rarely fall down these days. It's true that I do also minimise stressors though, meaning that I have less need to be organised.

Expand full comment

I found it really useful and totally identified with the idea that my internal admin assistant had gone on holiday and not told me. I get these moments when I start searching for something I've put in 'a safe place', and I've often wondered if I need to keep a list of notes where I've hidden things from myself! I was notorious for getting locked out of my house when I was younger and all the neighbours had to help because I kept losing my keys.

Google calendar has become my best friend in recent years, and I put things in there like cleaning so I don't forget. I've found this the most helpful when my deficit is more prominent.

Expand full comment